The GUN Forum

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

home Forums – The GUN Forum Ammunition Reloading Need some advice on a .308 reloading issue

• Need some advice on a .308 reloading issue

Posted by james on June 23, 2022 at 11:22 pm

Hello all!

I’m pretty new to reloading .308 (maybe like a few months into it) and I am encountering a strange issue with cartridges not chambering in a bolt action rifle (Remington 700). They’ll chamber in my M1A with no issue, and of course they seem perfectly in spec according to my case checker and calipers. I have fired them in my M1A previously, and I don’t think that they formed to my chamber simply due to the fact that all other dimensions along the case/neck are correct.

Any recommendations on what I can look for?

james replied 1 week, 2 days ago 2 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • papamcb

June 23, 2022 at 11:22 pm

I would load for each rifle separately. This will be more work but you will have a more accurate round for each rifle.

Or the other option is load for the smaller chamber, this is what I do with 223

• 101stjetmech

When you full-length resize, make sure the shell holder contacts the die when actually sizing.

M1A, M1 will both chamber rounds that have the shoulder too far forward just because of the chambering force of the spring. We saw this at the CMP games a few years back. Issue HXP that worked just fine in the M1s would not chamber in most of the 1903/A3s. Someone had a case checker and we found that batch of cartridges had the shoulder too far forward – beyond SAAMI specs.

How are you measuring them? With a shoulder gage? What sizing die are you using? Is it a small base?
    Assuming oal case length is within spec.

Easy way to find out is 1 case bump shoulder back 2thou increments. Keep checking to see if bolt closes. If you bump it a good amount and have the same issue then switch to a small base die.

• CptAmerica007